On certainty

Act your age.
Well tell me,
now,
how
do you
act
22?
By planning
my life
out
on a floating map
in my mind?
Opening it up
and pressing
out the creases
when I am asked
what am I
doing
now?
And everybody
gives a definite
answer
and it sounds
so
good
and we are all pleased
that someone else
knows exactly
what they are doing
acting their age.
Well how,
now,
am I supposed
to act
when I reach
the age of 90?
Tired
and slow
and dragging
my feet till death?
Who set these
standards
anyway?
And if we are all
striving towards this
certainty
with our lives
then tell me,
why
do we all
fear
Death?
For Death is always more
certain
than life
and yet
we all
pretend
we are immortals
acting our age
one
year
at
a
time.

Leave a Reply

