Red Light Turn

On my way to work
I find small joy
in even sitting at a red light
and watching the people in their cars
turning the wheel
and concentrating
on where the next road begins.
They all have half-second personalities
with their story decided
the second I see their faces.
I wait for one person
to stare back at me
and wonder similar things.
Sometimes
an other will catch a glimpse
and we pass a moment
so intense with curiosity-
neither of us afraid
to stare.
But traffic will never
stop,
and so we pass
and you drive away.
But neither of us
even looks in our rear view mirrors.

I look up for a green light instead.

Leave a Reply

