In the Fishbowl

I’m sitting next to my fish bowl
on a cold day
watching him hover near the surface.
I read once that beta fish show they are happy
when they make little bubbles
that gather on the surface.
I don’t think my fish is happy.
I wonder if he knows i’m here,
looking at him from the outside,
seeing my head shift, back and forth,
or my hair falling down
from a tight bun upon my head.
He hides in that artificial plant,
hovering.

I’m shivering outside his glass bowl
in my house
and the only thing I can hear
is the breath escaping my mouth.
Outside the trees are swaying
back and forth
and the rain falls down
from the sky.
Who, now, is gazing upon me?

Leave a Reply

